Average Joe

I confess that I am a fairly average Joe.

I am pretty decent at most of the things I put my mind to, but I am not really an expert at anything.

I am told that I am a pretty awesome bass guitarist by fellow musicians, but I think this is mostly just innate talent and staying within my comfort zone. I rarely practice and I seldom experiment outside the scope of indie power pop rock-n-roll, which is more about presentation than virtuosity. If there is anything about performing music that I would admit expertise on, it might be stage presence. But even there, I am often humbled by other performers that I idolize. These would include Mike of the band SUNSPOT and Fred from the band COWBOY MOUTH.

Perhaps aspiring to these stage presence “experts” is heading in the direction of expertise, but I am not there yet, and I am not even sure this is something you can practice. Indeed, I would argue that honing one’s musical prowess is part of the process of gaining stage presence virtuosity. This is because to truly be in the moment on stage, the music skill has to be second nature and largely muscle memory, so that one can focus on whatever it is that comprises “stage presence.”

So in summary, I’m not an above average Joe, but I am not a below average Joe by any stretch of the imagination.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on November 13, 2012, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

