Trimming Fat

I had to resign my post as bass player for BABY ROCKET last weekend, after the final show of the year. It was a tough decision for me, but nobody else in the band seemed to care, so I don’t feel too bad about it. “Honey badger don’t give a #*%&.”

The pay was pretty good in that band as far as gigs. But it was not that good and it was very unsatisfying to play crappy bar gigs, which in my opinion are beneath the musical calibre of this band. They are all very talented musicians, but they did not realize that fact and they limited themselves to crumby bar gigs that amateur bar bands should be playing. BR should have been doing weddings, parties, and high end/higher pay stuff, and focusing all attention on getting those prestigious gigs, even if it meant passing on low budget banal bar gigs, which I think devalues a good band.

Anyway, I have limited creative resources to distribute to my various musical endeavors and I want to direct my energy to the ones that are going in the right direction for my own above average talents. So I decided to trim the fat and redirect the BABY ROCKET energy to more productive efforts, like HIATVS. http://hiatusrocknroll.blogspot.com

As with anything involving a group of people, there has to be a mutual mission and vision. Mine had diverged from that of BABY ROCKET, and that’s OK. A band should only have band members who are on board. I have no regrets about resigning and they seem pretty OK about it too. So all is well, I guess.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on October 2, 2012, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

