The FAWM Mini-Studio

1629946873

My February Album Writing Month (FAWM) has been going well. I don’t have any songs I would call “hits” yet, but that’s not the point. Or maybe it is the point, inasmuch as you generally have to write a shit ton of songs to get one “gem.”

When I say a hit, I am not talking about commercial viability. Even my best songs don’t have that. No, a hit to me means that I would be cool with performing it live and would enjoy playing it for my friends, who would also enjoy it.

This fits with my new live music model, which is to play more selective venues, such as house parties, where the audience is happy, captive, appreciative, and filled with ample amounts of free beer.

This FAWM I have been keeping things simple. I actually get a fairly decent recording quality in my living room. Actually, I must qualify that. When I record guitar and vocals acoustically in my living room, I get a decent sound quality out of the Violet Black Night condenser microphone I am using to this end.

I am using Logic recording software on my Mac. It has tons of guitar and bass amp simulators, so when I go direct into the computer with my electric guitar, it sounds like I am playing on quality gear. I can also put a lot of improving effect on my vocal tracks when I record them singly on the Black Knight.

Why am I telling you this? Because I can. Why are you reading this? I don’t know. Go do something useful now.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on February 20, 2012, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

