Waterhouse Foods Cafe and Open Mic

There is this cool live music venue in Lake Mills WI called Waterhouse. It is highly underrated and not well publicized, but I really want people to know about it, because it is cool and it is unique among businesses to be found in rural WI towns.

They have food. They have wine. They have beer. They have coffee. They have sweets. They have live music.

I think it is one of the nicest places to hang out and socialize and hear good musicians perform.

I am not saying this because I perform there, although I should disclaim that in full disclosure.

I have only played there a couple of times as a soloist, but I host open mic there the first Thursday of every month to encourage more musicians to come find out about the place.

I am curious to know, what would make YOU want to go out to a coffee shop bistro on a Thursday night between 7 and 9 PM?

Lake Mills has bars, a Mexican restaurant, a wine shop, a brewery, the usual WI stuff. But the Waterhouse is different. It has leather couches and art work on the walls.

Maybe people feel like it is too “fragile” of an establishment because of the art work and wine bottles everywhere. Or maybe, the kind of people who dig that kind of thing just aren’t as aware of it as they should be.

I like to rock there. The acoustics for my solo music is pristine in there, and I sound awesome. The singing lessons probably help too, but I have played other places and I don’t think I sound as good as when I play at Waterhouse.

I also need to buy a new guitar. This guy Kurt who played my open mic at Waterhouse last night has a sweet Martin acoustic. On price, my Takamine Jasmine can’t be beat and it stays in tune really well. But it is a beater guitar and sounds dull compared with higher end guitars, even though the Jasmine is easy to play on without a capo.

But now I am getting off topic.

Anyway, check out the Waterhouse Cafe sometime.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

