Cosmic Explosion of Music in My Head

So…

I joined SPOTIFY.

And my brains have been blown completely out of my head into the cosmos.

Leave it to the Europeans to come up with a music streaming application that uses an iTunes interface and has millions of free, legal, licensed, royalty paying songs.

Most major and indie labels are represented, as well as DIY artists who have their songs in distribution with digital music retailers like CD BABY. Even my solo album, CACTUS JOE’S INSPIRADO, is on there.

There is almost nothing I have not found on there. Even if the exact song isn’t on there, someone has usually covered it in a good way. And there’s live concerts too.

My musical universe just exploded in size and it is amazing.

A part of me doesn’t want to share this with my readers, because I care about you too much and my fear is that if too many people find out about SPOTIFY and join it, they will manage to ruin it.

But morally, it would be wrong to withold this amazing music library from you. That said, I know many of you will totally ignore me and miss out on this thing until it is too late. But you really should give it a try.

It’s completely free. The interface is like iTunes, and will even sync your local mp3s to your iPod (though not streamed songs). You can create playlists and make them public or private for other Spotify users to see. You can add friends directly through Spotify or via Facebook.

If you are still hesitant to try it out, name me a song, any song. Leave the song title and artist as a comment below.

I will go into my Spotify and see if it is there. Then I will report back to you personally and post a link to the song.

Off to listen to more music. Addictive.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

