Why Do I Torment Myself? (With Schecter Bass Guitars…)

Schecter Riot-5 Maple Burl 5-String Electric Bass Guitar Natural¹Every time I receive Musician’s Friend’s “Guitar Buyers Guide” in the mail, I know I should throw it in the recycle bin and not look at it. But for some reason I always look at it.

And it is torture. I want but can’t afford (given all my other bass guitars) a Schecter 5-string bass guitar. I have played one before and it’s just a wonderful instrument to play.

So then I see they are having a clearance on the Schecter Riot 5- and 6-string basses at Musician’s Friend. $1,400 basses for $600…

It’s such a great opportunity to get the bass I have always wanted. But, I don’t have $600. Or I should say, the $600 I have was long ago earmarked for things like rent and gas.

I have to keep reminding myself that my current basses are all excellent instruments (with the exception of the Dean acoustic/electric beater, but that was meant to be sturdy, not sound or play good – it does what it is supposed to do!) and I am never wanting for groovelicious bass guitar sounds with the instruments I have.

Yet, there it is, taunting me from the glossy pages of the Musician’s Friend “Guitar Buyer’s Guide” – The Forbidden Schecter Bass Guitar.

Sometimes ignorance is truly bliss.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on June 30, 2010, in Journal of Cactus Joe, Schecter Bass Guitars and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

