The Road Ahead

Dear Friends,

I am up at the cabin now, working on nicer versions of THESE DEMOS for Tracy.

You see, she and I will be performing them live at SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND, Wednesday August 26th @ 6:30 PM, Brink Lounge (Madison, WI). Tracy is an AWESOME AND PROLIFIC POET/LYRICIST, but she has never really performed music publicly before. So she and I need to practice A LOT between now and then to make sure she is confident to sing them. And that is why I need to prep nicer demo versions to work from. So tomorrow I will be down in the basement of the cabin recording in Logic and hoping the water pump doesn’t turn on while tape is rolling and shatter my solace.

We’ll probably have a social some time before that date so she can perform them in front of friends and feel comfy. I know the first time I had to sing in front of people it was a shocker. I had been playing bass in the band, just rocking along to the chick singer, not worried about learning any words. Then she quit 3 days before a big show. Well, I never cancel shows, so I learned how to sing 30 or so songs for that show and I’ve been cursed with vocal abilities ever since.

Tracy also wants to learn drums. That would be very rocking and also helpful for me in the studio. I’m not very good at drums, though I try.

This coming week will end with more research for my business plan on the ins and outs of commercial song writing. Hey, a man’s gotta make a living somehow, and since I already have the skill set.

Anyway, when you have 2 minutes, scope: http://5090.fawm.org/fawmers/cactusjoe and tell me what you think of the tunes. The crude demos will still give you the basic idea, enough to fire off constructive critiques my way!

Thanks in advance.

CJ

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on August 17, 2009, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello,
    I would like to ask if you are accepting link exchange. I will be glad to hear from your response.
    Here is my blog information:
    Title: How to become a singer
    URL: http://becomeasinger.blogspot.com/
    description: Tips and techniques in singing lessons and ideas on how to become a singer

    Thank you very much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

