I’m a “Nickname for Richard”

I’m a dick.

Well, I should say I often get perceived as being a dick because people have certain incorrect expectations of me and I often bluntly shoot them down because I don’t subscribe to or share in those expectations. I suppose I could be more polite about it, but life is really too short and in the music business the only people deserving of politeness are the fans. They are the only ones worthy. As far as I can tell, everyone is the music business itself is looking out for themselves.

And I am no exception, except that I look out for the interests of my fans because I know these are the only people who appreciate my good high quality rocking. Everyone else is in for a piece of my pie. But they can’t have it. It is reserved for my fans and only my fans. Eat as much pie as you want fans, I will not let THE MAN infringe on your enjoyment AT ALL. That’s a promise. And if he does, I will kick his ass.

Some of my musician colleagues mistake the fact that I am jaded as being a dick. I have been playing music over 25 years and I have become jaded because I know the reality of this business. When I speak that reality and it bursts someone’s bubble, they call me a dick. In general, whenever someone calls you a dick, it is because their world view simply does not agree with yours. So you are essentially a dick for “soiling” their world view with your own. But you aren’t really a bad person. A dick is simply what appears when two different worlds collide, and most of the time the dicks stay out of sight.

OK, that sounded weird.

Anyway, LAST MINUTE GIG ALERT…

Cactus Joe
Saturday 8/15
Escape Juke Joint (formerly Escape Java Joint)
Madison, WI
7-10 PM
FREE
ALL AGES
Free CD for the first person to say “CACTUS JOE IS NOT A DICK” at the merch table hosted by my lovely MERCH GIRL Tracy.

I love you all, and if you are a fan, I promise not to be a dick to you, ever. Unless you ask for “Freebird” at a show, because I am not going to play it and that makes me a dick, but also you a dick for asking, and so it cancels out.

CJ

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on August 13, 2009, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

