Total Tool

So, I am driving home from UP NORTH last weekend and I get behind a repair van going really slow…which gives me the opportunity to contemplate the business’s marketing slogan:

DSCN0434

Hard to know what they were thinking. What I was thinking is, “This repair guy is a total tool.”

But he is not the only one. Madison Media Institute might want to adopt the slogan “Total Tool Recording Service.” MY BAND was scheduled to record there on Thursday July 9. I keep a meticulously updated calendar, and I have yet to ever miss a date or double book anything. I’m a perfect God of booking really. But when we got there, we were told we were NOT on the calendar and another band was slated to record. Well, I guess you get what you pay for (in this case NOTHING).

Normally, that would have sent me on a six-state shooting spree. But this actually worked out, because my scheduled drummer for the night “forgot” we were recording. I had scrambled another drummer for the occasion though, and amazingly he showed up on time and ready to go.

OK, I will admit I’m a little bit under-enthused at the calibre of professionalism in the music world around me today. Is it so much to ask that people take rock-n-roll seriously and not be hacks, even transiently? But all things happen for a reason, right? In this case, two wrongs made a right (rare night off for Cactus Joe to work on the 8 million other things on his TO DO list). But I had a chance to update this blog, so all is now well and I have gotten it out of my system.

I can only lead by example.

Visit www.guppyeffect.com for some exciting news.

About Cactus Joe

Cactus Joe is a songwriter, producer, performing musician, and free agent in Madison, WI. http://www.cactusjoeproductions.com

Posted on July 10, 2009, in Journal of Cactus Joe. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

